Old Neapolitan prayers

Published April 4, 2011 by Tony

Evening prayers

There are some old Neapolitan prayers that moms and grandmothers once taught to their children to say before going to bed.

Simple and short prayers that looked like singsongs or rhymes easy to remind.

These prayers date back to ages ago so, I am too young to know them, also if am familiar with some but,  thanks to internet I found others that willingly  post here now. In brackets you will find the literal translation also if the rhyme  will be lost.

 

Me cocco e me faccio ‘a croce

‘a Maronna mè mamma

Gesù Cristo mè pate

e Sante mè so pariente

me cocco e nun aggio paura e niente.


[I go to bed and cross myself

Madonna is my mother

Jesus Christ is my father

Saints are my relatives

I lie down and have no fear]

 

or

 

Je me cocco ‘int’ ‘a ‘stu lietto

e ‘a Maronna affianco ‘o pietto

jo dormo e Essa veglia,

si è coccosa me risveglia;

Gesù Cristo m’è pate

‘a Maronna m’è mamma

‘e Sante me so’ pariente

duorme… ca nun haje paura ‘e niente!


[I lie down in this bed

and Madonna is by my side

I sleep and she watches over me

if something awakens me;

Jesus Chris is my father

Saints are my relatives

sleep… you will have no fear]

 

 

E’ sunata ‘n’ora ‘e notte
e l’angiulillo p’‘a porta,
e Maria p’‘a casa;
‘o tristo jesce e ‘o buono trase
e Dio ‘nce guarda ‘o capo ‘e casa.


[Night is here

the angel is at the door

Mary is in the house;

the bad goes out and the good goes in

God will protect the householder (dad)]

 

 

Io me cocco ‘a lietto
e cu l’angelo perfetto
e cu l’angelo preganno
Gesù Cristo prericammo
Io me cocco e nun m’addormo
l’anema mia ‘a lascio ‘a Maronna
Io me cocco a lietto e nun m’addormesse
l’anema mia ‘a lascio ‘a Gesù Cristo
Io me cocco a e nun me vene
tre cose a chiese tene:
cunfessione, cummunione e uoglio santo

e lu cantu ‘o Spiritussanto
aiutaci Maria a tutti quanti.


[I go to bed

with the perfect angel

and praying with the angel

Jesus Christ we preach

if I lie down and don’t fall asleep

leave the soul to the Madonna

if I go to bed and don’t fall asleep

leave the soul to Jesus Christ

if I lie down and am not sleepy

three things church keep:

confession, communion and holy oil

and the singing of the holy spirit

help us Mary]

 

 

Bonasera Maronna mia

tutt’ ‘o munno a te s’inchina

cu’ chillu frutto ca dunaste

a tutt’ ‘o munno rallegraste

rallegraste l’anema mia

buona sera Maronna mia.


[Goodnight my Madonna,

whole world bows to you

by the fruit you gave

all the world you brightened

gladdened my soul

goodnight my Madonna]

 

 

Prayer for the ill people

 

Cuosemo e Damiano,

io ‘a ‘ncarme e tu ‘a sane

cu ‘e manupre e sacramienti

piglia ‘o mmale

e puortalo ‘o viento.


[Cosimo and  Damiano (two Italian Saints),

I bless it and you heals it

by manipulation and sacraments

you takes the illness

and gives it to the wind]


 

Morning prayer

 

Maronna mia

te ringrazio c’ ‘a faccia pe’ terra

ca m’hé fatto vede’ ‘na bbona e santa nuttata

comme spero ca me fai vede’ ‘na bbona e santa jurnata.


[My Madonna

I thank you with the face down

cause you let me have a good and saint night

as hope you will let me havea good and saint day]

 

.

6 comments on “Old Neapolitan prayers

  • Hi, I just read texts on your website and I became interested in the topic. I like your article and I am thinking whether I could use your words in my work? Would it be probable? If yes, please contact with me. Thank you.

  • Spot on with this write-up, I truly assume this website needs much more consideration. I’ll in all probability be again to read way more, thanks for that info.

  • You can definitely see your skills in the work you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  • Leave a Reply

