MOTHER’S DAY

Published May 12, 2012 by Tony

MOTHER’S DAY


Well, tomorrow the Mother’s Day is celebrated in many countries around the world including Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Cuba, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Ecuador , Italy, Japan, Latvia, Malta, Malaysia, Netherlands, Puerto Rico, New Zealand, Peru, Philippines, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, Uruguay, United States of America, Venezuela and Nigeria. As always, other nations have chosen a different day and this is therefore another holiday that is not shared by the whole world in the same day of the year.
In the United States in May 1870, Julia Ward Howe, peace activist and abolitionist (slavery), suggested the establishment of Mother’s Day (Day of the mother), as a moment of reflection against the war. It was formalized in 1914 by President Woodrow Wilson with the resolution of Congress, to be celebrated on the second Sunday of May, as a public expression of love and gratitude for mothers and hope for peace. The holidays then has spread to many countries around the world.
As my wish for all the moms in the world, I propose this old Italian song, composed in 1940 by Neapolitan Cesare Andrea Bixio and that has been sung by many singers and tenors, including Gigli, Claudio Villa, Luciano Taioli, Nunzio Gallo, Robertino, Giuseppe Di Stefano and Pavarotti. Although a simple and purely Italian melody has since become well-known all over the world because like a hymn it speaks of immigrants, distance and love for the mother and for own land. What follows is a literal translation of the text of this famous song.

MAMMA


Mom I’m so happy (Mamma son tanto felice)
because coming back to you. (perché ritorno da te)
My song tells you (la mia canzone ti dice)
which this is the most beautiful day for me! (ch’è il più bel giorno per me)
Mom I’m so happy … (mamma son tanto felice)
living far away, why? (viver lontano, perché)


Mom, just for you my song flies, (mamma, solo per te la mia canzone vola)
Mom, with me you won’t be alone anymore! (mamma sarai con me tui non sarai più sola)
How I love you! (quanto ti voglio bene)
These words of love, that my heart sighs to you (queste parole d’amore, che ti sospira il mio cuore)
maybe are used anymore (forse non si usano più)
Mom….  (mamma)
but my most beautiful song are you! (ma la canzone mia più bella sei tu)
You are the life (sei tu la vita)
and for life I don’t leave you ever again! (e per la vita non ti lascio mai più)

I feel your hand tired: (Sento la mano tua stanca)
searching for my blond curls (cercano i miei riccioli d’oro)
I hear your voice is feeble, (sento la voce ti manca)
the lullaby at the time. (la ninnananna di allor)
Today your white head (oggi la testa tua bianca)
I want to hold close to my heart. (io voglio stringere al cuore)
Mom, just for you my song flies,
Mom, you will be with me, and won’t be alone anymore!

How much I love you!
These words of love, that my heart sights to you
maybe are outdated
mom…
but my most beautiful song are you!
You are the life
and for life I don’t leave you ever again!

[repeat]

Mom….. never again! (mamma… mai più)

Leave a Reply

