WONDERFUL

Published May 20, 2012 by Tony

MERAVIGLIOSO

by Domenico Modugno

After the lyrics of yesterday, I could not avoid to put this other song by Modugno, another poem that speaks of the same subject, and that could be a response to the insane act of the man with the tail. Therefore, a hymn to life and as always I’ve tried to translate literally it, whereas possible. The video, however, refers to a recent version arranged by the Italian group Negramaro, a rock band from Puglia that has a lot of success here in Italy. I hope you like it.

WONDERFUL

It’s true
believe me it happened
at night on a bridge
watching the dark water
with the damn desire
to  take a dip down.
Suddenly
someone behind me
maybe an angel
dressed as a passerby
took me away telling me so:
Wonderful
but as you do not realize
how much the world is
wonderful.
Wonderful
your pain even
will seem then
wonderful….
But look around you
what gifts they did you:
they have invented
the sea
You say, I have nothing
Nothing seems (to you) the sun
Life
Love….
Wonderful
the fondness of a woman
who loves only you
wonderful….
The light of a morning
A friend’s hug
A child’s face
wonderful
wonderful…

The night was over
and I still felt (it)
(the) Taste of life
wonderful
wonderful….

Leave a Reply

