All posts tagged ACWS

America’s Cup World Series in Naples

Published April 15, 2012 by Tony

“Luna Rossa” wins America’s Cup in Naples

America's Cup in Naples

Because the bad weather yesterday the race was postponed, and today, Sunday, April 15, 2012 at 14.30, in the beautiful scenery of the Gulf of Naples, the Luna Rossa team Piranha has emerged in the last race, the final one, with a time of 40 minutes and 24 seconds, getting the victory of the Neapolitan ACWS with a total of 92 points after seven races. The Artemis team wins the racing trophy match, while Oracle Racing Darren Bundock triumphs in the AC500 Speed Trial with a time of 47.56 seconds.
The Italian vessel helmed by Chris Draper, has taken the lead since the start of the race and hung in there until the end, resisting the return of Oracle Spithill that reached the second place. A very unexpected result, greeted by the applause of many spectators on the Naples waterfront despite the rain.
Our long promenade of Via Caracciolo, has enabled thousands of people to attend this extraordinary event.
America's cup in NaplesThe weather was unsure even today, with a inconstant little rain and a fickle wind that seemed mild at first, allowing a slow speed of 4-5 knots and obliging any AC45 to mount the wing extension, but then increasing suddenly and giving back 15-16 knots. Very difficult, therefore, to sail in these conditions that takes skill, training and experience to face them. This morning, however, Luna Rossa was defeated by the Swedish Artemis Racing team that won the trophy match race of the America’s Cup World Series of Naples.
The seventh and eighth round of the Fleet Racing Championship has been canceled and will not be played and, therefore, with the awards today ends this 34th America’s Cup World Series held in Naples.
Teams, greeted the warmly Neapolitan audience, that had gathered en masse today to experience the excitement of this last AC World Series, will have a few days of rest before beginning the preparation for the next portion of the circuit, planned in Venice next month. The 2011-2012 AC World Series edition will end, instead, in Newport, Rhode Island, July 1 next. Luna Rossa wins

This is the complete ranking:

Fleet Racing Championship – Final standings after seven races –
1. Luna Rossa – Piranha (Chris Draper), pt. 92
2. Oracle Racing – Spithill (James Spithill), pt. 77
3. Emirates Team New Zealand (Dean Barker), pt. 60
4. Energy Team (Yann Guichard), pt. 54
5. Team Korea (Nathan Outteridge), pt. 49
6. Artemis Racing (Terry Hutchinson), pt. 40
7. Luna Rossa – Swordfish (Paul Campbell-James), pt. 41
8. Oracle Racing – Bundock (Darren Bundock), pt. 37
9. China Team (Fred Le Peutrec), pt. 15

Match Racing Championship – Final standings –
SF1 – Artemis Racing beats Luna Rossa Swordfish
SF2 – Luna Rossa Piranha beats Oracle Racing Bundock
FINAL – Artemis Racing beats Luna Rossa Piranha

Champagne to celebrate!

Here for the video of this last race: